Brutal London

Construct Your Own Concrete Capital

$ 29.95| £ 19.99 (* recommended retail price)

In this fun and intellectually stimulating book, readers can recreate a number of London’s most renowned Brutalist buildings. Opening with an informative history of the origins and philosophy of Brutalist architecture, the book then focuses on 9 buildings, including the Barbican Estate, Robin Hood Gardens, Balfron Tower and the National Theatre. The first part of the book looks at the significance of each of these buildings, with a short chapter on each, complete with texts and images. The second part of the book consists of a series of 9 push-out and build cardboard models, printed on heavy card stock, that readers can detach and construct with easy-to-follow instructions. At once fun and informative, this unique book offers a challenging and entertaining approach to architecture.

With a foreword from Norman Foster
With contributions from John Grindrod
With photographs from Peter Chadwick
Hardcover, 72 pages, 24,0 x 28,0 cm, 47 color illustrations, 1 b/w illustration
ISBN: 978-3-7913-8300-2
US October 10, 2016
UK September 19, 2016
Status of delivery: This title is available.


Zupagrafika (Author)

Zupagrafika is a creative design studio based in Poland, founded by David Navarro and Martyna Sobecka. The studio originates, illustrates and designs their own award-winning, architecture-related objects.

John Grindrod (Texts)

John Grindrod is an author and journalist. He wrote the book Concretopia: A Journey Around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain and has contributed to The Guardian, the Financial Times, C20 magazine and The Modernist.

Peter Chadwick (Photographs)

Peter Chadwick of Popular design studio, runs the website This Brutal House, which focuses on architecture, Brutalism and Modernism in particular, from the viewpoint of a graphic designer. He is the author of This Brutal World.

Norman Foster (Foreword)

Norman Foster is the Founder and Chairman of Foster + Partners, one of the most respected international architectural practices. He was awarded the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 1999 and the Praemium Imperiale in 2002; and in 2009 he became the twenty-ninth laureate of the Prince of Asturias Award for Arts. He was granted a knightood in 1990 and was appointed to the Order of Merit in 1997.